Maternity Session: Heaven’s Little Surprises – Bay Area Photographer

In the midst of trying to build a portfolio, my amazing husband offers a lady he saw while at work everyday a photo session. She said she was interested, he passed my info to her, we talked, set a date, and had a session. I was so excited for this session because I had a vision in mind. I ordered a gown from the TAoPAN Store, made a floral crown, and brought along a few other effects to make the session pop. Little did I know, this mama-to-be would have a truly beautiful story to tell.

powellMaternity-013-Edit-copy

As a photographer, I like to connect with whoever I’m working with. Making these connections not only help the overall outcome of the images, but it’s one of the things I enjoy most about my job; I have the potential to form bonds with new people! So, while talking to this mama, I asked if her and her husband had been trying long to conceive. Her story literally brought tears to my eyes

. powellMaternity-240-Edit-Edit-Edit-copy

Her and her  husband had been together  over 10 years (including the years before marriage), and they are clearly in love. The two of them together reminded me a lot of me and my husband together, actually. Both of our pregnancies, in fact, were a surprise, except we weren’t trying to conceive… hehe. This Mama and her husband, on the other hand, had been trying, and they’d been trying for a very long time with no luck. Mama said she’d given up hope and decided that if they were unable to conceive a child naturally, they’d adopt a child rather than artificial fertilization.

powellMaternity-427-Edit-copy

 

She’d gone in to the doctor, requesting a fertility test and a flu shot because she’d been feeling a little sick.   The nurses told her they were unable to give patients the flu shot if they were already having symptoms, and that they’d also have to test for pregnancy because they really couldn’t give the shot if she was pregnant. Of course, she took the test, thinking it’d be negative, but God had decided to bless her and her husband with the baby they’d been praying for. I was floored by this testimony, and literally had to stop shooting for a bit to smile and take the time to share in the joy she was feeling.

powellMaternity-421-Edit-copy

We had a good time during the session. Our husbands got along, she and I got along, and we kept in touch during her waiting-for-baby-to-arrive period. The baby is here, and he is happy and healthy! His birth story is a whole different blog post, one I hope will come with his newborn photos. Well, enough of the jibber-jabber, here are the images!

powellMaternity-125-Edit-Edit-copy

 

powellMaternity-367-Edit-copy

powellMaternity-365-Edit-copy

powellMaternity-389-copy

powellMaternity-402-Edit-Edit-Edit-copy

 

One thought on “Maternity Session: Heaven’s Little Surprises – Bay Area Photographer

Leave a Reply

